Write a List

So I’m currently working on Day 2 of the #everydayinspiration emails. (Yes, I’m currently getting emails for Day 13 but it’s been a busy few days). The inspiration today is to write a list.

Most who know me or are around me might notice my habit of continually making lists. I am quite a big fan of to-do lists. I find that they keep me focused. However, I’m going to try to spin this into a different direction. I’ve read some pinterest posts about “bullet journalling” and one of them included a recommendation to write a “done” list rather than a “to do” list. The rationale of looking at what’s already done, focusing on the positive by looking at the glass half full rather than stressing yourself out with what is left to do.

You’ll notice that today is August 31. A lot of people are saying that the summer is over and the news is talking about going back to school. Granted, I am no longer a student and do not have kids so school isn’t really something that’s on my brain. Nonetheless, I am noticing how summer is coming to a close. It’s hard to enjoy summer when some of your friends aren’t there to enjoy the weather.

Well, today I am writing a “done” list of my summer this far.

  1. Traveled to New Orleans
    • Beginning of summer trip to kick it all off!
    • It was a cool few days to explore a new city, have some new types of food and drink and have great laughs with a good friend.
  2. Visited Tobermory
    • This was my real only “getaway” this summer.
    • I went swimming in Georgian Bay (which was cold but oh so cool)
    • Went hiking all along Flowerpot Island
    • A little getaway for my best friend and I 🙂
  3. Went to Wonderland with my sister
    • This is a fun yearly tradition. It’s so expensive but it’s so much fun (minus waiting a whole hour for a burger…)
  4. Read quite a few books
    • I spent many days off this summer reading in my backyard – I got some interesting burns and some interesting tan lines and was able to fill my mind with new sorts of knowledge.
    • Notable books this summer:
      • Beautiful You – Chuck Palahniuk
      • Harry Potter & The Cursed Child – J.K. Rowling et al.
      • The Stranger – Harlen Coben
      • The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins
      • Spinster – Kate Bolick
  5. Did lots of hiking
    • I’ve become minorly obsessed with Smokey Hollow – it’s so close and so amazing.
    • Today, I went to Elora Gorge with a friend – a bit further away and I’m glad we got to see some of the sights but not somewhere I would rush back
    • Tiffany Falls in Ancaster – a cute little hike when I didn’t feel like going home
  6. Started watching HIMYM (How I Met Your Mother)
    • Yes, I’m a little behind the times but I just finished Season 3 and am quite enjoying so far!
  7. Booked some trips
    • A trip to Thailand was booked for October!!!
    • And a trip to British Columbia was booked for September to go visit a friend
  8. Donated to a good cause
    • My sister won a trip to go help build houses (the location has now been changed to India). I’m proud that I was able to donate a sizable amount to help her achieve this goal.
  9. Went to open houses and private house showings
    • I am slowly dipping my toe into the real estate market. Granted, the market is beyond insane so far this summer but just trying to get a feel of what I like and what I don’t like
    • I have a great realtor who is beyond patient with me and I’m very thankful
    • It’s overwhelming to look at the numbers and try to think of what my life is going to be like when I do finally find a place that I love
  10. Made some new friends
    • I’m a lot more comfortable with the people I work with – I’m starting to see them as my second family. There are people I confide for advice on different topics and am more open about my life
    • I’m making an effort to keep in touch with people so I can see them on my random days off. Trying to achieve a balance of work/life balance.

So summer 2016, not too shabby, not too shabby. I am glad for my experiences and am excited to try to bring this excitement into the fall and winter.

Happy summer and happy list-ing!

Leave a Reply

