I am me

So I’m a little late (and for those who know me, it’s not something that really happens often) but I’m taking part of Blogging 101’s blog challenge. Today (or yesterday) I am to introduce myself to my blogging world.

Well, my name is Rachel. I am 23 and just started working in a job with the Ministry of Health that I hope evolves into my career. My background includes a degree in Sociology with a minor in English. I started my blog late last year in hopes that it would help me write more often. And now I’m doing this blogging challenge to try to add a bit more structure to my writing as well as to write a bit more consistently.

I have loved writing since I was a young child. Although I was never that person that dictated stories to my parents to type, many of the gifts to my family and friends have included a letter. I was also a big fan of writing short stories, songs and journal entries through all of my education. I have a bit of a sore spot to university, however, because I find it more difficult now to sit and write something. Creative writing is somewhat lost for me and that is something that I hope I can recover. I am also in the pursuit of reading a book per week (might decrease some weeks, especially after summer) in order to expose myself to literature again.

I plan on writing about a variety of topics but the main ones will likely (and already have) included gender issues (femininity and masculinity), villains, friendship, relationships, and other social encounters.

I am one of the people who still gets some social anxiety about others reading my writing which is why a lot of my previous posts do not include a tag. I am hopeful to overcome this throughout this challenge.

I don’t really know what else to write. I am me. It’s very nice to meet you.

2 thoughts on “I am me

  1. It’s nice to meet you too, Rachel! I have the same anxieties. It is hard to put yourself out there. Just keep being you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

