Sharing some thoughts

Elite Daily, one of my favourite online news sources, published an article about a New York web producer sending tweets that compared the action of being raped to the theft of one’s wallet. I thought for a moment after reading it about the power that was grounded in the article. I wanted others read the article… but I didn’t want to share it as a status on FB. I didn’t want to send a tweet about it (although let’s be serious, I don’t tweet). I didn’t want to cause a stir. Or allow a potential label of “feminist” be stigmatized as part of my identity. But that’s when I reminded myself that this fear of the stigma of the feminist label perpetuates it.

I’m not a shy person. I’ve been told by many that I’m very confident for my age. Yet borders of social stigma definitely still make me uncomfortable. Maybe because I studied Sociology in university so I feel like I know at least some of the social costs of stigmatization.

I don’t post a lot on Facebook or Instagram. The occasional status update or picture about what’s going on in my life but for the most part, my friends have a pretty good idea about what’s going on in my life.

At the end of the day, I decided to try something new. This is definitely a heavy area but it still requires change of thought. And sharing ideas is one of the best ways to get started into a better direction, in my opinion.

At the end of the day, here’s the link to what I thought to be a fabulous article: http://elitedaily.com/women/woman-tweets-stolen-wallet-rape/861768/

If you like it, great. If not, I hope I didn’t offend you. If I did offend you, please be aware that this is just being done in the interest in changing the reactionary mentality of society about women (and men) who have been raped.

Leave a Reply

